Hadrian’s Wall–A Walk I would recommend

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had a wonderful time in England and Ireland. The weather was beautiful, the countryside was amazing, and the company was grand. I didn’t know there were so many sheep in existence–not to mention cows and the occasional bull! We walked between 8 and 18 miles a day, staying at B&Bs or hostels along the way. A “sherpa” service delivered our bags, so all we carried were our lunches, snacks, and a few necessities. One of the things that I liked best was talking to the hosts where we stayed–and the other guests. It was fun to find out where everyone was from, what they had enjoyed the most, which direction they were walking, and how their feet were holding out! There were not a lot of Americans–lots of Europeans from all over (Italy, Germany, France, and Portual, to name a few).

We must have climbed more than 100 stiles. I should have done more in terms of stairmaster! I also finally figured out that turnstile and stile are connected. Strange, I know, but in my brain, I had never thought of them together. I know, I know, I can be dense.

3 responses to “Hadrian’s Wall–A Walk I would recommend

  1. I hope you have more photos! Maybe at Thanksgiving we can see them all.

  2. Oh, Sarah, be careful what you wish for. Your dad took 784 photos and I took more than 200!

  3. I’m ready. Bring ’em on!

Leave a Reply

