Hadrian’s Wall

This summer I am going to walk from one end of England to another along the site of Hadrian’s Wall.

Isn't this beautiful?

Needless to say, I am excited beyond belief. I’m going with my brother, Paul, who can literally run circles around me. I am hoping he will not want to run circles around me.

I am preparing by walking on my treadmill faithfully every day. I’m doing pretty well, although I found out today that when I get back from England I will need to have some reconstructive foot surgery (a few screws inserted, a few tendons lengthened, that sort of thing). My foot hurts when I walk, but I think the trip will be worth it.

If God didn’t want me to walk 10-15 miles per day in the beautiful Engish countryside, he wouldn’t have invented Ibuprofen. Oh wait, he didn’t invent that. Oh well, you get what I mean.

6 responses to “Hadrian’s Wall

  1. I’m so excited for you, Barbara; and my envy knows no bounds. Will you be able to blog your adventures? I do hope so. Vicarious is better than bedrest, I allus say!

  2. Me too, both excited for you and envious. I think you’ll have a great time. Can’t you also rent bikes that you can then ride for 10 miles or so and drop off at the next location?

  3. I hadn’t thought about biking part of it. I will have to check it out.

    Sorry you have sick kids!!!!

  4. I’m so jealous!! I’ll be looking forward to your posts (hopefully with lots of pictures?).

  5. Sounds like a lot of fun! Above all, please be careful, don’t push yourself too hard, and take care of your foot. It’s hard to have a good time when one is in pain.

Leave a Reply

