White Whine

I’m not a drinker, but I do like to wash down my meals with a little white whine. I didn’t realize how bad I was until over the break, when Mike (33-year old son) called me on it. I was talking about my trip to Brazil and said something about our airplane. He said, “Mom, you should send that in to Whitewine.com.” (Be sure to check out complaint # 824.) I had never looked at the site before, and I realized that my complaint fit right in. Basically, I said how terrible it was that the airplane we were in to and from Brazil didn’t have individual tvs, so that I couldn’t play any video games or watch the movies I wanted to. I know. I think about people in Haiti who have been living in a tent for more than a year, who have lost their homes, their family members, and who have had cholera. I need to keep thinking about other people’s struggles every day so that I don’t fit in quite so well to the white whine site.

In that spirit, I have made a vow not to complain about the C word. In writing about it, I may be breaking my vow–I’m not sure. And no, it’s not that C word. Get your mind out of the gutter! It’s the C word that starts with c and ends with -old. I heard myself becoming a broken record with my complaints about the C and my complaints about the S (-now). So I am trying really hard to look at the positive and realize I live in a place that has winter, it’s going to be winter for several more months, and it really is not that big a deal. We have a minute or so of extra light each and every day. I can deal with it.

2 responses to “White Whine

  1. The kid in complaint #824!! Hahahaha!

Leave a Reply

