Where squirrels hide nuts

I like squirrels. I have a friend who doesn’t–and who calls them rats with fluffy tails. But as I said, I like them and think they are fun to watch. But that doesn’t mean I think they are particularly smart. Au contraire, mon frere, as Bart would say. I have new proof of their fairly small rodent brains. I have a black walnut tree in my yard, and I try to leave at least half of the nuts on the ground to help the squirrels through the frigid Indiana winters. But they like to hide them in very funny places–like in the mailbox. Today I saw that a squirrel had “hidden” one in a hanging basket:

See what I mean?

Leave a Reply

