Indiana morning in the fog

A lot of people on the coasts just fly right over the midwest, not realizing how beautiful it is. Mind you, I didn’t necessarily think that 30 years ago when I came here for the first time! But this morning I was out bright and early (brighter and earlier than I wanted to be!) I drove Paul to the airport in the dark at 5 am, I guess because I am a martyer–a cheapskate– such a good person. Coming back, the sun was just coming up, and there were patches of fog that floated just above the partially harvested fields. Sometimes the fog would cross the road, and it felt like I was driving on top of a cloud. There were big yellow school busses picking up rural kids, large combines, trucks, tractors, and other vehicles set to work on the harvest, and a possum that got across the road to live another day. It made me so happy I had to sing out loud, and the song that came to mind was Arlo Guthrie’s version of “City of New Orleans”–you know the one, with the chorus “Good morning, America, how are you?” I blasted that out for ten minutes or so, feeling pretty happy I live in Indiana.

2 responses to “Indiana morning in the fog

  1. oh, that makes me homesick!

  2. I don’t know that song. I gotta hear it!

Leave a Reply

