Almost like “The Gift of the Magi”

I love O’Henry’s story “The Gift of the Magi,” and it moves me every time I read it. Poor Jim, selling his watch to buy Della combs for her hair–only to discover that she has sold her hair to buy a chain for his watch. Pure O’Henry.

Last night we re-enacted the plot (in a much cheaper way that did not involve me having to cut my hair).

After I received the aforementioned Microwave S’More Maker, I had three days of leaving the house at 8 and not getting home until almost 10 at night–and I hadn’t had a chance to try it out (primarily because it had not come with graham crackers, marshmallows, and chocolate!)

As I was driving home late last night, I decided it would be a fun surprise to stop and buy the ingredients and surprise Paul. When I got home, I took my little bag of goodies upstairs to show him. He looked a bit odd, took me to the kitchen, and showed me the identical items that he had just gone out to buy! Maybe we have been married long enough that we really do know what the other person is thinking. Or maybe we just both really wanted a s’more–and now we can make a LOT of them.

4 responses to “Almost like “The Gift of the Magi”

  1. I must know more about this magical Microwave S’more Maker. I have made s’mores in the microwave before, but I had to make do without proper equipment.

    • It’s pretty much a complete rip-off–but fun! It’s in the “as seen on tv” category–Paul snagged it at Big Lots. We used it last night–basically you just put the thing in the microwave and turn it on for 10 seconds–voila–perfect melted chocolate and marshmallow. Come on over next time you’re in town and I’ll make you one!

    • I added a photo of the box–please note the vestiges of the Big Lots price tag!

Leave a Reply

