Bread and (ginger peach) butter

I learned as a kid that if you were walking with someone and you separated (to go around a lamp post, for example) both people had to say “bread and butter.” I don’t know why. I just know you have to–and that it has taken about 36 years for me to teach Paul to do it about 48% of the time. It may be a Midwestern thing because it was my Illinois-raised mom who insisted upon it. I guess it’s the same reason I try not to walk under ladders or step on cracks (you should catch me sometimes lurching around campus like a drunk to avoid a crack–it makes my gait pretty awkward!)

Yesterday I heard a grandmother explaining the same practice to her grandson. It made me happy that people are passing along this custom. I think ritual and fear are the staples of life, and we shouldn’t get rid of all of them–just the ones that hurt and oppress people.

I am making butter for my bread as I type this. It’s ginger peach butter from the Moosewood cookbook. You put a dozen peaches in your crackpot, (A Freudian slip? Make that crockpot!) purée them, add brown sugar and pieces of ginger and then cook away. I have been sampling as I go–and it tasted good on my bread this morning. Bread and butter.

5 responses to “Bread and (ginger peach) butter

  1. Crackpot – look THAT up in your Funk & Wagnalls!

  2. Oh Rachel, you just made my day. Barbara, I want some, too. I’m going to go get peaches tomorrow.

  3. We have a different set of programs to listen to in San Diego. I now listen to “A Way with Words” (http://www.waywordradio.org/) on my way home from church on Sunday. People send in colloquialisms and the hosts explain their origins. If you decide to send yours in, I’ll listen for you!

  4. Sounds good, Kristine–I’ll do it!

Leave a Reply

