“Huge” is good TV

I’ve been intrigued by ABC Family’s “Huge.” When I was a teenager I saw some ads for weight-loss camps and yearned to go to one–especially if it was “back east,” somewhere exotic (compared to Utah)–like New York or New Jersey. Even better would have been Maine. I asked my parents, and there seemed to be just two things between me and fat camp–money and the fact that I wasn’t really fat (although I honestly thought I was!) Here is a photo of me at about that time. I think we are in the petrified forest. I’m on the left, my dad is in the middle (I love and miss him so much!) and Patty is on the right:

I was 13 or 14 in this picture–see what I mean? What I saw as fat was actually puberty.

Anyway, I think the idea of teenagers at a weight-loss camp is great. And ABC is doing a good job at showing teenage angst and the kind of thing that is so weighty (no pun intended) as a teenager–like losing your journal, wanting a boyfriend, wondering if you can be included. I like Nikki Blonsky, and she is doing a great job as “Will” or “Willamena.” But Becca is even more interesting–Becca, who is shy and retiring, and yet can yell at the tennis camp kids when she is larping in medieval clothing.

I don’t think it is a very good weight-loss camp, mind you. I hope the parents aren’t paying too much for this neurotic director, sadistic coach, and salty chef (not to mention the lax supervision in the woods–somebody’s going to end up pregnant at the rate they are going!)

But it’s good–catch it if you can.

Leave a Reply

