Lovely Lillian

Today while driving home from lunch with my brother and sister-in-law I saw an elderly woman trying to climb over a small embankment. It was about 90 degrees, and she was wearing a sweater, so I thought I should stop. I asked her if I could give her a ride and she said yes, and left her purse sitting next to the road–I retrieved it.

It soon became clear to me that she didn’t know where she was going, but she wanted me to drop her off “downtown.” Just believe me when I say that in Orem, Utah, I had no idea where she could mean–it is miles of stores on one main road!

I finally suggested calling a nice policeman to see if he could help. She thought that was a good idea. After looking in her purse for an address and seeing that her driver’s license said California, it seemed like the right course.

She was so nice and trusting! I called the police and they knew who she was, since the nursing home had reported her missing. Poor thing. I took her home and waited for the police. Her son came too, and he was mainly mad at the facility.

As I was leaving, another resident said, “you had an adventure, didn’t you Lilian?” almost enviously, and Lilian replied, “oh yes, I did.” Lovely Lilian.

Leave a Reply

