Road Trip

I am off on a road trip. More than 3,000 miles until I return. Nothing is more fun–that feeling of being totally footloose and fancy-free. I like to drive, and have since I first drove our ’58 chevy down that dirt road in Idaho when I was 14. The car had “3 on the tree”–remember that gear arrangement? My dad sat patiently in the passenger seat as I ground the gears and did my best to drive. Since my mom didn’t like to drive at all, I became her very willing chauffeur as soon as I had a license.

So I will probably drive most of the time. Lots of time to think as I listen to Huckleberry Finn and walk Mark Twain’s hometown streets.

Leave a Reply

