Hicks Rule, So Holla Back, Y’all

Today I got a package of those little hard candy hearts in a box–you know the kind–with little sayings on them. Except I’m not sure I understand them anymore. OK, I get BFF–I mean, I can LOL and ROTFLMAO with the best of them. But I was stumped by “Hicks Rule” Initially I thought, yeah, Indiana is finally getting the attention it deserves. But no, off the edge a little bit was an errant “C,” it actually was “Chicks Rule.” Way more boring.
And then I came to one that said “holla.” “Holla?” I thought–what is that? So being the industrious worker bee that I am, I googled it and the urban dictionary tells me this:
1. A way for a brotha to say he wants to get in your pants
2. A pimp ass way of saying ‘what up’
3. May be used to end a conversation
1. ‘Ay, my boy right here wanna holla at cha’
2. ‘Holla, what you be doin’
3. ‘I gotta go, buh holla back.’

And all the time I was thinking it was a misspelling of hola!
But then another entry said:
A greeting that seems recent, but was used as far back as Shakespeare’s time.
Francisco: Bernardo has my place. Give you good night.
Marcellus: Holla! Bernardo!

I ate all my hearts. Hope I get some more.

4 responses to “Hicks Rule, So Holla Back, Y’all

  1. Necco got rid of all the old sayings, and the new ones were all suggested and voted for online. Hence the proliferation of modern slang and text-speak.

    Holla back, girl.

  2. Barbara, you just gave me and Sheila the giggles. We both confessed to wishing we got to see you more often.

  3. I want to see you guys more often, too! I know, why don’t we get together the weekend of May 14-16! 🙂

  4. So that”s what happened to the old ones! Thanks, Chris–consider this a holla ta ya.

Leave a Reply

