Do I dare to eat a peach?

When I was a senior in high school I studied “The Lovesong of J. Alfred Prufrock” and I have often thought about why the persona felt it required some sort of courage to eat a peach. Because it’s messy? Did it always give him indigestion? But now I find myself asking the same question as I wonder about my succulent peach’s carbon footprint. I LOVE peaches. The very whiff of a peach brings back happy memories of eating peaches–as many as I wanted–right off the tree in our back yard. Even before that I had happy peach memories. As a fairly small girl I can remember standing on a chair in the basement kitchen helping my mother can peaches. She showed me how to scald them quickly so that the skin just slipped off. Then we could cut them in half and pack them into jars, pour syrup over them, seal the jars, and then process them in boiling water. And months later we could eat those wonderful peaches that we had preserved ourselves for Sunday dinner with waffles. I’m salivating just thinking about it.

But it’s pretty unnatural to be able to eat a ripe fresh peach in the middle of winter. I’ve been reading a little bit about the “locavore” movement, and I’m starting Barbara Kingsolver’s book “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” and I am fairly certain this peach I have didn’t grow in Indiana or anywhere remotely close.

So how do I know if I’m being a good person anymore? Does eating this peach harm the environment? Twenty years ago or so I said to a friend, “You’re a good person,” and his response was, “But that’s the only thing I have ever really wanted to be.” I’ve remembered that, because I want that, too. But it’s hard to know how to do it sometimes.

True confession: I dared do it. And it was exceptionally good!

5 responses to “Do I dare to eat a peach?

  1. I’m jealous that your peach was good. It’s been a few years since I’ve had a good peach, organic, local, or otherwise.

    I loved Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. I now fantasize about living the way Kingsolver did.

  2. Oh, and I think you’re a good person.

  3. Thanks, Sarah. I think you’re a really good person!

  4. Fortunately for the environment, peaches make me gag.
    Unfortunately, not a lot else does. I’m pretty sure those avacados I ate at lunch from Friday weren’t from Indiana either!
    I really enjoyed Kingsolver’s book. In fact, it was one of my favourites of all the books I read last year. We will have our own private book group over lunch and discuss!

  5. I’m so critical that a private book group is probably the only thing left to do. I can’t help it if I don’t like “Rhett Butler’s People!”

Leave a Reply

