My Messed Up House

Some time weeks ago I got the ridiculous idea that I needed new cabinets and counter top. Ever since we had bought our house, I had wanted to change the position of the sink so that when I’m washing dishes or chopping things I could see outside–a noble cause, don’t you think? So off I went to get some ideas from a local hardware store where I met Dawn. Dawn is a wonderful person, but has much grander ideas than I have. I should have been nervous when she said things like, “Do you have to keep this wall?” and “Does your Hoosier Cabinet have to stay?” or “Do you like where your refrigerator is?”
I had modest hopes and dreams. How hard could it be? New cabinets morphed into moving the plumbing, making a place where I can have a built-in dishwasher, rewiring a few things here and there–still fairly simple, right? Here is a picture of what my dining room looks like at this moment:

Even the library is in on the disaster act:

Here is the “kitchen”–and I use the term loosely, since nothing can be cooked there:

What can I say? I don’t know where anything is, and I haven’t cooked for 3 weeks. It will be 3 more before the counter top arrives. And the worst of it is, I’m worrying that I won’t even like it when it’s done. I spent about 15 hours making “Roman Shades” and now I’m afraid they’re the wrong color. I think the bottom line is that no matter what it looks like I MUST LOVE IT, because I’m never going to change it again!

3 responses to “My Messed Up House

  1. I think you will love it without even having to pretend! At least, I hope you do 🙂

  2. I can’t wait to see it! I might drive out for Conference weekend.

  3. I think I will love it, too! Thanks for your support, Hannah!

    Sarah, we would love to see you!

Leave a Reply

