Playing

In this photo I must have been about 7. I think we were singing Christmas carols.
Today I was walking to a meeting (being very serious, wearing my serious go-to-meeting duds) and there in my path was a spiky sweetgum ball sitting in the middle of the sidewalk. It was impossible to resist–I had to kick it. And then I had to kick it again. And then I was playing a very old game of mine where I would find something to kick (rock, seed, can) and kick it ahead of me as I walked. It got into the grass, so I followed it into the grass and kicked it back. It went into the street, so I went into the street. It was really really fun, and I realized I should play more. Why don’t I? The answer soon came to me as someone approached from the opposite direction and I immediately abandoned my play so that I wouldn’t look childish. But is there really anything so bad about being childish? It made the time between buildings so much more enjoyable. I’m gonna spend some time looking for my inner kid.

2 responses to “Playing

  1. Matthew 18:3, “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”

  2. Very true! And I want to go to heaven, because I figure you’ll be there–you are such a wonderful soul, Greg.

Leave a Reply

