There are two tons of stuff heading my way

The week in Utah went really well, but it was really hard–both physically and emotionally. My sibs are great–what nice people. I’m glad I’m related to them. It was really hard to throw things away that my dad had saved–and yet it was impossible to keep everything. I will be the keeper of the genealogy and many of the family papers–about 15 boxes of them.

Now comes the really scary part–literally two tons of stuff is now in South Chicago and will be arriving at my house on Monday morning in the handy “relo-cubes” (ABF you-pack cubes that are 6x7x8 and get loaded onto a big truck by a very cool three-wheeled fork lift that can get itself up and down from the truck). Where am I going to put all this stuff? Sarah will get some things–books, fruit dryer, table and chairs, pie cabinet, dishes, and more books. Liz will get a pie cabinet, two brass rubbings, all of my mom’s brass rubbing equipment, and some dishes. Patty will get a couple of chairs, a lamp, a box or two, and a futon. That leaves me with lots of stuff. I need to get rid of the things in my house to make room for them.

I also need to plan to live forever so that nobody will ever have to clean out my house…but I don’t think that can be arranged–I just need to take REALLY good care of myself to at least delay the inevitable.

3 responses to “There are two tons of stuff heading my way

  1. Thanks for letting me keep my stuff in your basement and attic. It’s the best storage “rental” unit I’ve ever known.

  2. You’re welcome! I’ve got you a good bolo tie!

  3. I can’t even imagine how hard that must have been. When I spoke to you on the phone, I cried after I hung up. In a ridiculous sort of way, I’m glad that I will have physical reminders of Grandpa and of my life in his home.

Leave a Reply

