My scary coin collection

My coin collectioin isn’t scary in and of itself–it’s me that is scary. I am going to get new cabinets in the kitchen, so I’ve been pulling out drawers. I pulled out one, and underneath it, right by the bricks of the wall, I saw a blue coin book–the kind that you put pennies in–one from each year. I was really excited, because I was thinking, “Wow! I found somebody’s coin collection–maybe it’s valuable! I’ll sell it and it will be worth lots of money! Yeah me!” Then I opened it up and saw the name “Barbara Hart” in a child’s handwriting. It was the eeriest feeling, since that used to be my name so very long ago. And it took me a few microseconds to realize it was my handwriting, my name, my coin collection, and that I must have put it there and forgotten about it. I could not remember putting it there, but I must have. How very weird and scary! So then I looked at my coins and I remembered how I had collected them little by little and how my dad would go to the bank and get me rolls of pennies that I could look through. The ones for 1945 (made out of steel) were in little packets in mint condition–those I had bought with my allowance. So I got excited again thinking maybe they were valuable. But guess what? They are only worth 49 cents apiece. I’ve saved them for 48 years or so, and they are only worth 49 cents. So I’ve decided I’ll hide them somewhere else, then I’ll forget where I put them, and when I find them again maybe they’ll be worth 54 cents!

5 responses to “My scary coin collection

  1. Welcome back to the world of coin collecting! I am an almost 41-year old collector who also started out as a young child.

    Just think: those 1943 one-cent coins (that was the year of the steel cents) were purchased for $0.01 then, and are now worth $0.49 today. That is an increase of 4800%!

  2. I used to have dreams about my coin collection being worth a lot of money in 50 years. I even thought my foreign coins would fetch a hefty price if I let them age properly. I’m pretty sure they’re worthless, now, since they’re extinct.

  3. I’m going to just keep saving them–and you should to. Your kids might really love them in the future! Wish me luck in Utah next week!

  4. My parents used to have this huge jar, a big carboy, filled with just pennies. They gave me the job of sorting the pennies. My instructions were to put all the ones post-1970 and put them in a pile to go to the bank, and save the earlier ones because they might be valuable. If I found a wheat penny, it was a very special occasion and I saved those separately. I felt that this was a very important job and I would sit for hours doing this task. I think the only penny I still have from this whole era of penny-sorting is a 1914 wheat penny somewhere in a box in my parents’ house.

  5. That’s a good way to look at it, Les! I’ll keep collecting! Rachel, I think your parents had a great idea. It’s good for kids to have jobs–and I like that one. Next time you go home you can find that penny. In my safe deposit box I’ve got a roll of silver dimes–I need to find out how much those are worth someday!

Leave a Reply

