Jumping the Gun

I knew it was risky–that I was taking a chance. But I’m usually so, well, averse to risk. So I threw caution to the wind and planted about $100 worth of plants well before the last frost date (see earlier post with photo of my porch when I demonstrated such hubris). What was I thinking? All the time I was doing it, I was thinking, “Wow, my back really hurts,” and “Isn’t this way too early?” but then my obsessive self just decided to ignore the clear-thinking part of me and I just kept going. So although it was 80 on Saturday and it seemed spring was really, really here, now I find myself covering tomatoes with old sheets because it will get down to 31 tonight. It actually hailed today. And I’m having back spasms–especially when I burp or hiccup. Bodily functions can be so painful!

2 responses to “Jumping the Gun

  1. I’ve been fighting the urge to plant, but for me it’s easier, because I’m lazy. I hope your tomatoes survive.

  2. So far so good. They all survived the night (I covered them), and if they can live through tonight, I think I’m safe.

Leave a Reply

