I’d like to check you for ticks

Some country songs are so good! I was driving in the car this week and I had the radio on a country station. I sort of go through stages of music, and can really get into the narratival aspect of country. In fact, if I were to start my English Ph.D. all over again, I’d be a cultural critic with a focus on American country music because it is so revealing about American lifestyle.
Anyway, I was driving along and a Brad Paisley song came on. The basic gist of it was that he is in a bar and there’s a beautiful woman and he knows everybody else is going to hit on her, but he believes he can be more original. Here is the chorus:
‘Cause I’d like to see you out in the moonlight
I’d like to kiss you way back in the sticks
I’d like to walk you through a field of wildflowers
and I’d like to check you for ticks.
That is just a great chorus.
I just today discovered that nobody says “country western” music any more. It’s just “country.” I feel really stupid, because apparently Liz told me that about 3 dozen times and it didn’t sink in! But old dogs sometimes can learn new t(r)icks.

One response to “I’d like to check you for ticks

  1. Did you just make that up?

Leave a Reply

