Merry Christmas and a Happy 2008

Where did December go? This month I’ve been to China, I’m now in Utah, and I have a hard time figuring out what time it is and when I should sleep.

My dad is such an inspiration for me. One of our projects today is going to be to record him reading “Tyger” by Blake and “The Darkling Thrush” by Hardy. I went to the local WalMart to get a cassette tape, and I kid you not, it took 4 salespeople to find them. I am positive 2 young women did not know what I was talking about. Technology is moving at such great speed!

Back to my dad. He has pancreatic cancer and is very thin and very tired, yet he is a person of great faith. Yesterday we went to church, in spite of the snow and cold. Every day he gets up, eats his breakfast, does the cryptoquote, and just enjoys the small things all day. Each night he records Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune–and then watches them the following day so that he doesn’t have to put up with the commercials!

Dad must be one of the last 12 people in the U.S. not to have internet access, so I find myself in the Provo Public Library. There are lots of people here, and interestingly, lots of missionaries. I guess they are allowed to be here!

Things seem to be moving so quickly–travel, work, life. I feel very blessed to be healthy, to have a job, to have smart and funny kids, and friends I trust and value. Happy New Year!

5 responses to “Merry Christmas and a Happy 2008

  1. You do have smart and funny kids. Fo’ sho’.

  2. Thanks, Chris–and it was fun to see you at Berry’s!

  3. Do we all get the recording of Grandpa doing Tyger?

  4. Yes, I think Lynette will digitize it, and then I’ll send it out. He’s great at reading poetry, but his voice is really weak.

  5. send me a copy, too! I would love to have a listen.

Leave a Reply

